Showcasing Diversity & Building Business Opportunities at Algiers International Book Fair

Dany Laferrière with Amba¬ssador Isabelle Roy and Noreddine Chih

Dany Laferrière at Canada Stand at Algiers International Book Fair

Dany Laferrière at SILA

The Embassy of Canada to Algeria was proud to showcase one of Canada’s greatest writers and promote Canadian literature at Algeria’s most important cultural event, the 21st annual Algiers International Book Fair (SILA). The event attracts an estimated 1.5 million visitors each year. The 2016 edition had 50 participating countries and close to 1000 vendors represented, including Canada’s National Association of Book Publishers (ANEL) on hand for the first time, bringing Canadian books to international audiences.

Successful Collaboration

The Canadian Embassy to Algeria was thrilled to facilitate the participation of Haïtian-Canadian author Dany Laferrière in the Fair. Invited by the Algerian Minister of Culture, Mr. Laferrière is the first and only Canadian (as well as the first and only Haitian) member of the Académie française, and is the only current member who is not a citizen of France..  His high-profile participation showcased Canada, while also highlighting a dialogue on diversity and cultures based on Mr. Laferrière’s works and his own life experience.

Algeria is home to the 3rd largest francophone population in the world with more than 11 million French speakers, and Canada is home to the second-largest diaspora of Algerians in the world (after France). The strong ties between Canada and Algeria have made Canada a reference point for most Algerians, opening the door to  a demand for Canadian books in French covering subjects such as : computers, electronics, biology, and medicine, all of which are in high demand.. 

The Canadian Embassy, ANEL, and local partner, distribute ABC Books, look forward to future partnership opportunities in the years ahead, while the Embassy will also look to enhance Canada’s presence at future editions of the Algiers International Book Fair.

Le Salon international du livre d’Alger promeut la diversité et ouvre de nouvelles perspectives commerciales

Dany Laferrière avec amba¬ssadrice Isabelle Roy et Noreddine Chih

Dany Laferrière au Stand de la France au SILA

Dany Laferrière au SILA

L’ambassade du Canada en Algérie a eu la fierté de présenter l’un des plus grands auteurs canadiens et de promouvoir la littérature canadienne à l’occasion du plus grand événement culturel d’Algérie, à savoir le 21e Salon international du livre d’Alger (SILA). On estime que cet événement attire environ 1,5 million de visiteurs par an. L’édition 2016 a accueilli 50 pays participants, et près d’un millier de maisons d’édition, y compris (et pour la première fois) l’Association nationale des éditeurs de livres (ANEL), un éditeur canadien qui promeut les ouvrages du Canada auprès d’un lectorat international.

Une collaboration fructueuse

L’ambassade du Canada en Algérie a été ravie de faciliter la participation de l’auteur canado-haïtien Dany Laferrière au SILA. M. Laferrière, qui a été invité personnellement par le ministère algérien de la Culture, est le premier (et le seul) Canadien membre de l’Académie française. Il est également le premier et le seul Haïtien à faire partie de cette institution, et il est actuellement le seul Académicien qui n’est pas de nationalité française. La présence de cet auteur renommé a permis de mettre le Canada sous les feux de la rampe, mais aussi d’ouvrir un dialogue sur la diversité et les cultures éclairé par l’œuvre de M. Laferrière et son vécu personnel.

Avec plus de 11 millions d’habitants parlant français, l’Algérie abrite la troisième plus grande population francophone du monde, et le Canada est le deuxième foyer mondial de la diaspora algérienne (après la France). Les liens étroits entre le Canada et l’Algérie font du Canada une référence pour la plupart des Algériens, avec à la clé un intérêt vis-à-vis des ouvrages canadiens rédigés en langue française, notamment dans des disciplines en forte demande comme l’informatique, l’électronique, la biologie et les sciences médicales. 

L’ambassade du Canada, l’ANEL et leur partenaire local, le distributeur ABC Books, se réjouissent à l’idée de poursuivre de nouveaux partenariats dans les années à venir. Par ailleurs, l’ambassade s’efforcera d’amplifier la présence canadienne lors des prochaines éditions du Salon international du livre d’Alger.