Ambassador Patrick Parisot Message from the Ambassador

Matthew Levin

Welcome to the website of the Embassy of Canada in Cuba!  It is a great honour and privilege for me to represent Canada in this fascinating country with which we share a long tradition of friendship and cooperation.

The Americas are one of Canada’s foreign policy priorities and we work with all our partners in the region to increase mutual economic opportunity, address insecurity, strengthen institutions and foster lasting relationships in the hemisphere.  Canada’s long standing engagement with all elements of Cuban society, including government, civil society, business and academic partners, supports these objectives.

The Canada-Cuba relationship is rooted in a rich history of commerce, investment and development.  Shared respect for cultural and ethnic diversity is a pillar of Canada-Cuba relations.  Countless personal ties link our two countries.  For example, Canada is Cuba’s number one source of tourism, and Cuba is now the third most popular sun destination for Canadians after the United States and Mexico.

This vibrant and growing tourism industry is only one facet of a dense network of academic, commercial and cultural relationships between our two countries.  Our strong academic ties include six Canadian Studies Centres located across Cuba, and generate countless academic exchanges and research opportunities.

Our economic and commercial ties are also a key part of this relationship.  Canada is among Cuba’s most important commercial partners, and Cuba remains Canada’s top market in the Caribbean and Central America.  There is a continuing interest in the Canadian private sector in developing relations with Cuba, especially as a process of economic modernization creates new opportunities.

The Embassy of Canada is working hard to strengthen the Canada-Cuba relationship by encouraging trade and investment, fostering academic relations, providing high-quality consular and immigration services, and supporting development cooperation efforts.  The Canadian Honorary Consulates in Varadero and Guardalavaca also offer emergency services to Canadians in those regions.  Our team at the Embassy is committed to providing the best possible service to Canadian and Cuban citizens.

I encourage you to use this website as a tool to learn more about our two countries, and about the many dimensions of the Canada-Cuba relationship.

Welcome!

Patrick Parisot
Ambassador

Biography – Ambassador Patrick Parisot

Patrick Parisot has been Ambassador of Canada to the Republic of Cuba since September 2016.

CGE [Business Management], HEC Montréal, 1976; BSp Rel Hum [Psychology of Communications], University of Quebec at Montréal, 1979; BA [Political Science], University of Quebec at Montréal, 1984;

CIJ [Information and Journalism], University of Montréal, 1987.

He has been an independent public relations and communications professional since 2011. He was principal secretary to the leader of the Official Opposition (2010 to 2011) and served as Press Secretary and special policy adviser in the Office of the Leader of the Official Opposition and the Office of the Prime Minister (1993 to 2001). He has served as ambassador to Algeria (2007 to 2010), Portugal (2003 to 2007) and Chile (2001 to 2003).

He and his spouse, Ms. Carmen Altamirano, have three sons.

Ambassadeur Patrick Parisot Message de l’ambassadeur

Matthew Levin

Bienvenue sur le site de l'ambassade du Canada à Cuba!  C’est un grand honneur et un privilège pour moi de représenter le Canada dans ce pays fascinant avec lequel nous partageons une longue tradition d’amitié et de coopération.

Les Amériques sont l'une des priorités de la politique étrangère du Canada et nous travaillons avec tous nos partenaires dans la région pour développer des occasions économiques d’intérêt mutuel, lutter contre l'insécurité, renforcer les institutions et favoriser des relations durables dans l'hémisphère. L'engagement de longue haleine du Canada à l’égard de tous les éléments de la société cubaine, incluant le gouvernement, la société civile, les entreprises et les partenaires universitaires, appuie ces objectifs.

La relation entre le Canada et Cuba est tissée d’une riche histoire faite de commerce, d'investissement et de développement.  Le respect partagé de la diversité culturelle et ethnique est un pilier des relations Canada-Cuba. De nombreux liens personnels lient nos deux pays.  Par exemple, le Canada est la première source touristique de Cuba, et Cuba est maintenant la troisième destination soleil la plus populaire pour les Canadiens après les États-Unis et le Mexique.

Cette industrie touristique dynamique et croissante n'est qu'une facette d'un réseau dense de relations universitaires, commerciales et culturelles entre nos pays.   Nos liens académiques solides incluent six centres d'études canadiennes situés à travers Cuba, et génèrent d'innombrables échanges universitaires et possibilités de recherche.

Nos liens économiques et commerciaux sont également un élément clé de cette relation. Le Canada est l'un des partenaires commerciaux les plus importants de Cuba, et Cuba reste le principal marché du Canada dans les Caraïbes et en Amérique centrale.  Le secteur privé canadien est toujours intéressé à développer les relations avec Cuba, d'autant plus qu'un processus de modernisation économique crée de nouvelles possibilités.

L'ambassade du Canada s'emploie activement à renforcer les relations Canada-Cuba en encourageant le commerce et l'investissement, en favorisant les relations universitaires, en offrant des services consulaires et d'immigration de grande qualité et en appuyant les efforts de coopération au développement.  Les consulats honoraires canadiens à Varadero et Guardalavaca offrent également des services d'urgence aux Canadiens dans ces régions.  Notre équipe de l'ambassade s'engage à offrir le meilleur service possible aux citoyens canadiens et cubains.

Je vous encourage à utiliser ce site comme un outil pour en savoir plus sur nos deux pays, et sur les nombreuses dimensions de la relation Canada-Cuba.

Bienvenue!

Patrick Parisot
Ambassadeur

Biographie – Ambassadeur Patrick Parisot

M. Patrick Parisot est ambassadeur du Canada auprès de la République de Cuba depuis septembre 2016.

CGE [gestion d’entreprise], HEC, Montréal, 1976; B.Sp.Rel.Hum. [psychologie des communications], Université du Québec à Montréal, 1979; B.A. [sciences politiques], Université du Québec à Montréal, 1984; CIJ [information et journalisme], Université de Montréal, 1987).

Professionnel des communications et des relations publiques indépendant depuis 2011, M. Parisot a été secrétaire principal du chef de l’opposition officielle, en 2010-2011, et a occupé les fonctions de secrétaire de presse et de conseiller spécial en politique au bureau du chef de l’opposition officielle puis au cabinet du premier ministre, de 1993 à 2001. Il a été ambassadeur en Algérie, de 2007 à 2010, au Portugal, de 2003 à 2007, et au Chili, de 2001 à 2003.

Lui et sa conjointe, Carmen Altamirano, ont trois fils.