Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

india.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. For Canadians
  4. >
  5. Living/Travelling in India

Procurement or Replacement of an Indian Visa

Procurement of an Indian Visa

Information regarding Indian visa and immigration can be found on the following Government of India websites: www.immigrationindia.nic.in or www.mha.nic.in.  We are unable to assist with Indian visas or immigration requirments.

A valid Canadian passport is required for Canadians intending to visit India. The passport should be valid for at least six months beyond the date of your expected departure from the country.

A valid Indian Visa is also required before travelling to India. These can be obtained from the Indian diplomatic representatives abroad nearest to you. Foreigners arriving in India without a visa will be deported. In the case of a lost or stolen passport, Indian authorities must provide clearance for an exit visa, which can take two to three days to obtain. (See below)

It is strongly recommended that you visit the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade's Consular Affairs Web site Travel Report for India before making arrangements for travel to India.

Replacement of an Indian Visa

A Canadian citizen who is issued a replacement passport in India after a passport has been lost or stolen must bring the replacement passport to the Foreigners Regional Registration Office (FRRO) to receive an exit visa. This exit visa allows the traveler a specified period of time (usually a few days) in which to leave the country legally. Without an exit stamp in your passport, Indian authorities will not allow you to leave India.

This is a brief outline of how exit visa requests are normally processed to help you begin the process. Please bear in mind that while you are in India you are subject to Indian laws, regulations and procedures. The FRRO Office will be your best source of information and assistance regarding Indian visas.

The Foreigners Regional Registration Offices are located at:

New Delhi
Foreigners Regional Registration Office
Block 8, Sector 1
R.K. Puram (Behind Hyatt Regency Hotel)
Ph. 91-11-2671 1348, 2671 1384
Fax. 91-11-2671 1348

Kolkata
Foreigners Regional Registration Office
237, Acharya Jagadish Chandra Bose Road,
Kolkata - 700 020
Ph: 91-33-2240-4564/2247-3300

Chennai
Foreigners Regional Registration Office
Shastri Bhawan Annexe
Haddows Road
Chennai
Ph.: 91-44-28278210
Fax: 91-44-28240338

Mumbai
Foreigners Regional Registration Office
Annexe 2, CID, IIIrd Floor
Badruddin Tayeb Ji Marg (near Crawford Market)
Mumbai 400 001
Ph.: 91-22-22621169

For an exit visa, you will be asked to present:

  • Your replacement Canadian passport
  • The letter issued by the High Commission giving details of your lost/stolen passport.
  • In cases of stolen passports, a copy of the police report of the theft.
  • A letter from the airline on which you arrived, verifying the date and place you entered India

No fee is charged for an exit visa. A fee applies only if you apply for an extension of an Indian visa to remain in India for a longer period.

If you arrived in India in New Delhi, your exit visa may be issued within a few days. If you arrived in India at another airport or border crossing, the exit visa may take significantly longer to be issued because Indian authorities will want to verify the details of your arrival in India.

Replacement Indian visas may also be requested from FRRO, although they will take significantly longer to issue because the original visa issuance must be verified with the issuing post overseas. The High Commission is unable to intervene in routine visa requests. Discuss your application with FRRO officials, who will be in the best position to advise you how long the process will take.

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-08-06

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

inde.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Pour les Canadiens
  4. >
  5. Vivre/voyager en Inde

Obtention ou remplacement d'un visa indien

Obtention d'un visa indien

Des renseignements concernant les visas indiens et l’immigration sont disponibles sur les sites internet suivants: www.immigrationindia.nic.in , ou www.mha.nic.in Nous ne sommes pas en mesure de fournir de l’aide pour les visas indiens ou les exigences d’immigration.

Les Canadiens qui ont l'intention de se rendre en Inde, comme visiteur, doivent détenir un passeport canadien en règle, encore valide pendant au moins six mois après la date prévue de leur départ du pays.

Pour traverser la frontière indienne, il faut également un visa indien réglementaire. Vous pouvez en obtenir un auprès des représentants diplomatiques indiens à l'étranger le plus près de chez vous. Les étrangers arrivant en Inde sans visa seront expulsés. En cas de perte ou de vol du passeport, l'obtention de l'autorisation relative à la délivrance d'un visa de sortie requiert un minimum de deux ou trois jours. (voir ci-dessous)

Nous vous recommandons fortement de consulter le site Web Conseils aux voyageurs du ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international avant de commencer vos préparatifs de voyage.

Remplacement d'un visa indien

Un citoyen canadien à qui on délivre, en Inde, un passeport de remplacement, à la suite de la perte ou du vol de son passeport, doit le présenter au Foreigners Regional Registration Office (FRRO) afin de recevoir un visa de sortie. Le visa de sortie accorde au voyageur une période précise (habituellement quelques jours) pour quitter le pays en toute légalité. Sans un timbre de sortie apposé dans votre passeport, les autorités indiennes ne vous permettront pas de quitter l'Inde.

Pour vous aider à entamer le processus, ce qui précède n'est qu'un survol de la façon dont on traite normalement les demandes de visas de sortie. Il faut savoir que, lorsque vous êtes en Inde, vous êtes soumis aux lois, règlements et procédures du pays. Le FRRO constitue la meilleure source d'information et d'aide concernant les visas indiens.

Les Foreigners Regional Registration Offices sont situés aux endroits suivants :

New Delhi
Foreigners Regional Registration Office
Block 8, Sector 1
R.K. Puram (derrière l'hôtel Hyatt Regency)
Téléphone : 91-11-2671 1348, 2671 1384
Télécopieur : 91-11-2671 1348

Kolkata
Foreigners Regional Registration Office
237, chemin Acharya Jagadish Chandra Bose
Kolkata - 700 020
Téléphone : 91-33-2240-4564/2247-3300

Chennai
Foreigners Regional Registration Office
Shastri Bhawan Annexe
Chemin Haddows
Chennai
Téléphone : 91-44-8278210
Télécopieur : 91-44-8240338

Mumbai
Foreigners Regional Registration Office
Annexe 2, CID, 3e étage
Badruddin Tayeb Ji Marg (près du marché Crawford)
Mumbai 400 001
Téléphone : 91-22-22621169

Pour un visa de sortie, vous devrez produire :

  • Votre passeport de remplacement canadien.
  • La lettre émise par le haut-commissariat faisant connaître les détails de la perte ou du vol de votre passeport.
  • Dans les cas de passeports volés, une copie du rapport de police.
  • Une lettre du transporteur aérien à bord duquel vous êtes arrivé, pour vérifier la date et l'endroit de votre entrée en Inde.

L'obtention d'un visa de sortie ne coûte rien. Des frais s'appliquent uniquement si vous demandez une prolongation de votre visa indien afin d'allonger votre séjour en Inde.

Si vous étiez arrivé en Inde par New Delhi, votre visa de sortie pourrait être émis en quelques jours. Si vous étiez arrivé par un autre aéroport ou poste frontalier, la délivrance de votre visa de sortie pourrait prendre considérablement plus de temps parce que les autorités indiennes voudront se renseigner précisément sur votre arrivée en Inde.

Le FRRO pourrait également exiger un visa indien de remplacement. Toutefois, il faudra beaucoup de temps pour le délivrer parce que l'on doit effectuer des vérifications auprès de la mission ayant délivré le visa original. Le haut-commissariat ne peut pas intervenir dans les demandes courantes de visas. Discutez de votre demande avec les agents du FRRO qui sont les mieux placés pour vous informer du temps requis pour la délivrance de votre visa.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-08-06