Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada


  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Bilateral Relations

Canada and Pacific Island Countries (PICs)       

The Canadian High Commission in Wellington is responsible for Canada's official relations with Fiji, Kiribati, Samoa, Tonga, and Tuvalu. The Canadian High Commission in Wellington also represents Canada's interests in the Cook Islands, Niue and Tokelau.

The High Commission of Canada in Canberra is responsible for Canada's official relations with the following Pacific island countries: Federated States of Micronesia, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, and Vanuatu.

Canadian Development Assistance in the Pacific Islands

Canadian development assistance in the region consists of the:

  • Canada Fund for Local Initiatives, a community development program run directly by the High Commissions of Canada in Wellington and Canberra;
  • projects for the Pacific islands run directly by Canadian NGOs; and,
  • assistance through international institutions of which Canada is a member. 

* If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page .


Date Modified: